Follow us

Gain from far-reaching global audience of NUJE Europe, contact us to place your adverts today!

Thursday, 23 October 2014

Jonathan Finally Declares Re-Election Bid

President Goodluck Jonathan has finally declared his intention to run for a second term in office. The President, who made his intention known on Thursday disclosed that he will pick his nomination forms before the expiration of the deadline given to aspirants by the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP.

He made this known in the course of a meeting with Governors elected on the PDP platform at the House 7 wing of the Presidential Villa, Abuja.

The Anchor also gathered that the President has set up a committee which will be responsible for the picking of the form on Dr. Jonathan's return from Israel.

The PDP had announced on Wednesday that purchase of nomination forms would close on October 30.

Members of the committee set up by the President include former PDP National Chairman, Dr. Haliru Bello Mohammed, who is the Chairman, Dr. Ken Nnamani, Vice Chairman, Anyim Pius Anyim (Secretary), Rufa’i Ahmed Alkali (member), Julius Imagwe – SSA – Youth – (member), Baraka Sani (SSA -NSAP) (member).

Governors were also selected to represent zones; they include Liyel Imoke, Cross River (South South), Theodore Orji, Abia (South East), Olusegun Mimiko, Ondo (South West), Mua’zu Babangida Aliyu Niger (North Central), Ibrahim Shema, Katsina (North West) and Ibrahim Dankwambo, Gombe (North East).

The representatives at the National Assembly include Hosea Agbola, (Oyo), Ahmed Makarfi (Kaduna), Bitrus Kaze (Plateau) and Salmas Badru (Ogun).

Representatives of the Federal Executive Council include; Minister of Petroleum Resources, Dieziani Allison-Madueke ‎(Bayelsa), Minister of Police Affairs, Abduljelili Adesiyan (Osun), Minister of Women Affairs, Hajiya Zainab Maina (Adamawa), Minister of Federal Capital Territory, Bala Mohammed (Bauchi).

Representatives of the PDP include; Deputy National Chairman, Uche Secondus‎ (Rivers), Benue State Chapter Chairman, Emmanuel Egbo, (Benue) National Women Leader, Kema Chikwe (Imo) and North West Zonal Chairman, Ibrahim Kazaure (Jigawa).

Other party members include: Stella Omu (Delta), Walid Jibirn (BOT Secretary, (Nasarawa), Ibrahim Bunu (Borno), Jolly Nyame (Taraba), Aneitie Okon (Akwa Ibom), Peter Obi (Anambra), Remi Adiuku Bakare (Lagos), and A. B. Mamman (PDP National Youth Leader) – FCT.

Others appointed at Presidential discretion include: Halima Alfa (Kogi), Nigeria Ambassador to Netherland, Nimota Nihinlola Akanbi (Kwara), FCT ALGON Chairman, Micah Yohanna Jiba ‎(FCT) and Sam Ikon (Akwa Ibom).
Members of the committee have hinted that the President is expected to formally declare.

Send in Your Report or Opinion to NUJ Europe


Email *

Message *

mixed ads