Follow us

Gain from far-reaching global audience of NUJE Europe, contact us to place your adverts today!

Monday, 13 July 2015

Nigeria's President Buhari replaces Service Chiefs



President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the following appointments:

1. Major-General Abayomi Gabriel Olonishakin - Chief of Defence Staff;

2. Major-General T.Y. Buratai - Chief of Army Staff

3. Rear Admiral Ibok-Ete Ekwe Ibas - Chief of Naval Staff

4. Air Vice Marshal Sadique Abubakar - Chief of Air Staff

5. Air Vice Marshal Monday Riku  Morgan - Chief of Defence Intelligence

6. Major-General Babagana Monguno (rtd.) - National Security Adviser

The new Chief of Defence Staff, Maj.-Gen. Olonishakin (N/6901) hails
from Ekiti State. Until his appointment as Chief of Defence Staff
today, he was the Head of the Nigerian Army Training and Doctrine
Command in Minna, Niger State.

The new Chief of Army Staff, Maj.-Gen. Buratai hails from Borno State.
Until his new appointment today, he was the Commander of the
Multinational Joint Task Force which has its headquarters in Ndjamena.
Maj-Gen. Buratai has previously served as Commander of the Nigerian
Army's 2nd Brigade in Port Harcourt and Commander of the Nigerian Army
School of Infantry in Jaji, Kaduna State.

The new Chief of Naval Staff, Rear Admiral  Ibas (NN/0746) hails from
Cross River State. He enlisted into the Nigerian Defence Academy as  a
member of the 26th Regular Course in 1979 and was commissioned as a
Sub-Lieutenant in 1983.  His previous appointments include: Naval
Provost Marshal, Chief Staff Officer, Naval Training Command, Chief of
Administration, Naval Headquarters, Flag Officer Commanding Western
Naval Command and Chief of Logistics, Naval Headquarters. Until his
appointment as Chief of Naval Staff, he was the Chief Executive
Officer of Navy Holdings Limited.

The new Chief of Air Staff, Air Vice Marshal Abubakar (NAF/1433) hails
from Bauchi State.  His previous appointments include: Chief of
Standards and Evaluation, NAF Headquarters; Chief of Defence
Communications and Air Officer Commanding, NAF Training Command. Until
his new appointment today as Chief of Air Staff, he was the Chief of
Administration, NAF Headquarters.

The new Service Chiefs will hold their appointments in an acting
capacity until confirmed by the Senate.

President Buhari thanks the outgoing Service Chiefs and National
Security Adviser for their services to the nation and wishes them well
in their future endeavours.

Femi Adesina
Special Adviser to the President
(Media & Publicity)
July 13, 2015

New Nigerian President, Muhammadu Buhari, salutes his supporters during his Inauguration in Abuja, Nigeria, Friday, May 29,
President Buhari expressed his resolve to tackle Boko Haram militants at his inauguration in May

Nigeria's President Muhammadu Buhari has appointed new defence chiefs after sacking the heads of the army, navy and air force.Nigeria's new service chiefs:
Maj-Gen A.G.Olonishakin -Chief of Def Staff; 

2. Maj-Gen T.Y. Buratai - Chief of Army Staff 

3. Rear Admiral I.E Ekwe - Chief of Naval Staff

4. Air Vice Marshal Sadique Abubakar - Chief of Air Staff

5. Air Vice Marshal M.R  Morgan - Chief of Defence and Intel

 6. Maj-Gen B. Monguno - National Security Adviser

President Muhammadu Buhari on Monday afternoon relieved the following service chiefs of their positions. 

The affected officers are:

 Sambo Dasuki, National Security Adviser; 

Alex Badeh, Chief of Defence staff;

 Usman Jibrin, Chief of Naval Staff, 

Kenneth Minimah, Chief of Army Staff and 

Adesola Amosu, Chief of Air Staff.
The announcement was made in the afternoon while top military brass are in Abuja Military Headquarters holding all important 2nd Quater Conference.

Send in Your Report or Opinion to NUJ Europe


Email *

Message *

mixed ads