Follow us

Gain from far-reaching global audience of NUJE Europe, contact us to place your adverts today!

Sunday, 26 July 2015

NUJ Europe congratulate newly elected NUJ President and Executives.

In a statement issued on Sunday in London, the Acting President of Nigeria Union of Journalists Europe Chapter (NUJE), Prince Lashley Oladigbolu has congratulated the newly elected President, Mr AbdulWaheed Odusile and the executive officers of Nigeria Union of Journalists elected on Friday night.
The Nigeria Union of Journalist (NUJ) has elected Mr Abdulwaheed Odusile of the Nation Newspapers as its new president. He succeeds Malam Garba Mohammed.
Odusile was declared winner of the keenly contested election by the returning officer and Director, African Affairs, International Federation of Journalists, Mr Gabriel Baglow.
The national election at the National Delegates Conference of NUJ held in Abuja on Saturday saw Odusile pulled 354 votes to defeat his closest opponent Mr Rotimi Obamuwagun who got 333 votes.
The Nigeria Union of Journalist (NUJ) elected Mr Abdulwaheed Odusile of the Nation Newspapers as its new president in Abuja.
In the statement, Prince Oladigbolu described as mutual and progressive the level of cooperation  between NUJ Europe and the national body NUJ in Nigeria and thanked the former executive members, especially the former President and the National Secretary, Mallam Mohammed Garba and Mr Shuaibu Usman Leman, respectively for their commitment towards protecting the interests of the Union.

The statement added that NUJ Europe would continue in the same vein as NUJ in Nigeria, to uphold the tenets of professional journalism through rejuvenated dedication and the promotion of ethics of media profession among practicing Nigerian journalists all over Europe. It was emphasized that "the Constitution of NUJ in Nigeria is being held with sacrosanct view and shall be entrenched into the NUJ Europe modalities for her members, as the constitution is undergoing content perusal and deliberation by the Corporate and Resource Committee set up by NUJ Europe."
Lashley Oladigbolu, Ag. President NUJ Europe
"On behalf of members and the officials of the Nigeria Union of Journalists Europe I wish to congratulate the newly elected National executives of Nigeria Union of Journalists NUJ in Nigeria on their successful election. We are confident that your mettle proved in respect of your positions demonstrate that flags of Nigerian journalism are in capable hands and we wish you all successful tenure", Acting President stated.

 NUJ Europe is an unmbrella body for associations of Nigerian journalists residing and practicing across the countries of Europe.
Other contestants for the position of the President included Mr Dele Atunibi, who got 51 votes, USA Uzaka who received 46 votes and Alhaji Mustafa Lamidi who got 12 votes.
Mr Mohammad Shu clinched the position of the financial secretary of the union after he secured 454 votes to defeat his contender Mr. Ajayi Olugbenga.
National Treasurer’s post went to Mrs Monica Okechukwu who got 310 votes to defeat two other contestants, namely, Mr. Garba Iliya and Mr Ambrose Nwachukwu.

NAN reports that the positions of Deputy National President, National Internal Auditor and the Vice-President, North Central were filled unopposed.
Mr Chris Isiguzo was declared winner of the South East Vice-President after he defeated Mr Goddy Okafor who while Aisha Ibrahim clinched the position of Vice-President North East.
Other officials elected were Opaka Dokubo, Zonal Secretary South South, Mr Kenneth Ofoma Zonal Secretary, South East while Suleiman Ibrahim emerged Secretary, North East.
Similarly, Mr Hakeem Olatidoye emerged Secretary, North Central and Mr Lawal Afolabi won the post of the Secretary, South West Zone.
Delegates to the conference were drawn from NUJ Councils from the 36 states of the Federation and the FCT.

Send in Your Report or Opinion to NUJ Europe


Email *

Message *

mixed ads