Follow us

Gain from far-reaching global audience of NUJE Europe, contact us to place your adverts today!

Thursday, 7 April 2016

Nigeria National League to commence May 7

The Nigeria Football Federation on Tuesday in Abuja announced that the Nigeria National League will commence on May 7, 2016.
The kick off date which was agreed by the league body at the NNL Congress held at Top Rank Galaxy Hotel, Abuja would have an abridged league format of eight teams in four different groups.
Kaduna United, Sokoto United FC and Kogi United and five others have all been grouped in Group A1 in the new format. Group A2 has heavy weights like Kwara United, FC Taraba and Gombe United - all former NPFL clubsides.
Group B1 has, among others, Rivers State FA Cup champions Go Round FC, Remo Stars and Delta Force FC while ABS FC, Gateway FC, Bayelsa United FC and Prime FC of Oshogbo are part of Group B2 setting.
Barrister Seyi Akinwunmi, the chairman of the NNL ad-hoc Committee said that the committee had to go for an abridged league format because of the time already wasted as they aim to have a league that would be successful and productive.
Akinwunmi who also doubles as NFF 1st Vice President further said that the proposed kick–off date stands barring any last–minute change and assured the league should be concluded in good time. 
The 1st-placed teams in all four groups automatically pick the qualification ticket to the Nigeria Professional Football League.

NNL Groups
Group A1: Sokoto United, Kaduna United, Kogi United, Shekarau Babes, Katsina United, FC Yarmalight, Mighty Jet, Jigawa Golden Stars 
Group A2: Adamawa United, Kwara United, FC Taraba, Wikki Feeders, Supreme Court, FC Zamfara, Dreams FC, Gombe United
Group B1: Remo Stars, COD United, Delta Force, Go Round, Unicem Rovers, Sharks FC, Akwa Starlet, Abia Comets
Group B2: ABS FC, Crown FC, Prime FC, J. Atete FC, Bayelsa United, First Bank, Gateway United, Bendel Insuranceu

Send in Your Report or Opinion to NUJ Europe


Email *

Message *

mixed ads